Print    Close This Window

intro slide to CHS NHS 2021 New Member Induction Video, includes NHS logo

April 26, 2021 — Congratulations to the 53 Chardon High School students  — 19 juniors and 34 sophomores — who were inducted into the school’s chapter of the National Honor Society on April 6. 

The program consisted of an in-person, socially distanced and audience-limited ceremony in the school’s gymnasium that evening, an event that also honored the school's current 70 NHS members, including recognition of senior cord recipients.

NHS, a nationwide organization, recognizes students who have an overall cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher and are role models of the four pillars of NHS:  Scholarship, Leadership, Character and Service. In addition, CHS NHS members are expected to bolster the roles of the school’s required Peer Tutoring program. 

Nominees complete an application packet, which includes an essay and resume while faculty input serves as the final piece to the rigorous selection process.

The chapter's newly inducted members are as follows:

Josephine Aitken, Madeline Christie, Jack Dvorak, Bryanna Evan, Quentin Fedak, Grace Fisak, Ethan Gaspar, Melissa Gideon, Jack Horton, Aidan Ischay, Zachary Kalis, Kyle Kovats, Zane Kuhnle, Meghan Martin, Kristina Pason, Sydney Powell, Liam Richards, Nicole Secic, and Riley Zimmerer

Madilyn Atchley, Charles Bates, Nathan Bender, Lucy Beorn, Abigail Carson, Jordan Cvelbar, Nathan Eads, Molly Evans, 
Carley Gutka, Natalie Hajjar, Molly Hamulak, Zachary Heintz, Halle Hemly, Charlotte Herbruck, Alexis Jahnke, Maysen Jahnke, Faith Kilfoyle, Thomas Liebhardt, Sydney Murray, Taylor Myers, Paige Nells, Amy O'Brien, Kayla Oriani, Liam Ptasznik, McKenna Robie, Vincent Schmidt, Jacob Schneider, Skylar Spotz, Alison Stupi, Julianne Sweet, Maija Thomas, 
Frank Walland, Natalie Zemba, and Madison Zombory

The April 6 ceremony also introduced the chapter's newly elected NHS officers, all of whom will be seniors in the 2021-2022 year when they serve in their leadership positions: Morgan Fisher, president; Katie Snyder, vice-president of service; Sebastian Marker, vice-president of communications; Charlotte Bennett, secretary; and Lauren Alexander, treasurer.


CHS math teacher Scott Brown, who shares the school’s NHS advisory role with CHS science teacher Rob Mizen, noted that he is impressed with the NHS members as they have found ways to serve our community during the pandemic.


“Their efforts and compassion are truly admirable,” added Brown. “The new inductees have demonstrated patience and creativity, which will serve them well as they continue on their path of servitude.”


In addition to providing congratulatory remarks during the ceremony, Principal Doug Murray expressed his gratitude during a subsequent edition of the school’s Week in Reflection newsletter.


“We finally were able to celebrate our school’s first academic awards ceremony inside of the building with a limited crowd,” wrote Mr. Murray. “The ceremony was a beautiful reminder of normalcy, leadership and perseverance. Special thanks to Mr. Brown, Mr. Mizen, our NHS officers (current and future), and our Geauga Public Health Department for allowing this event along with Geauga-TV for technical assistance to make this event happen.”

A video montage of the newly inducted members can be accessed at the following link:  CHS NHS Inducts 53 New Members.  



District Media Contact:

Kelly Misch
Communications Director
Chardon Local Schools
[email protected]